Ancient Vastu Shastra

Vastu Shastra has evolved from ancient Indian Vedic sciences and is all about balanced, congenial and prosperous living. It advocates the elimination of negative energies and enhancement of positive energies in the home environment. Vastu Shastra was formed with the objective of serving humankind and doing justice to the people at large. The word Vastu is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘Vas’ meaning “to dwell, live, stay, reside”

There is no denying the fact that most of us spend the greater part of our day at home or workplace. All entities in the universe carry a certain level of energy and as such even our houses on this planet have energy vibrations linked with them. So, as per Vastu Shastra, we are constantly inundated with energies, some of them being positive, while others are negative. So, Vastu Shastra for home and workplace looks at reducing the negative energies and increasing the positive energies in our environment, so that the inhabitants witness progress and prosperity.

Every place whether it is a house, a Corporate Office, an Industry or an Institution, is associated with eight directions – the four main directions and the four corners. The house elements, when placed in a specific direction would have a specific significance associated with this placement. For example, if the Main Entrance Door of the house falls in a specific direction, it signifies that the people living or working in the place possess certain abilities in terms of Health, Wealth, Communication (Relationships) etc.

Ancient Vastu Shastra offers guidelines to create harmonious structures at sites that are in sync with Mother Nature. Vastu Shastra offers such tips to let human inhabitants residing in buildings lead a harmonious and balanced lifestyle. Vastu Shastra has not received the focus and attention of people that it deserves being an ancient science. Today’s fast-paced life of people does not allow them to look into the advantages offered by Vastu Shastra for constructing homes, offices or commercial places.


There are total 8 directions, the center of each one separated by 45 degrees or in other words, each direction covers 45 degrees.

In clock-wise the directions are:

1. North – Uttarā – उत्तर
2. North East – Aiśānī – ऐशानी
3. East – Pūrvā – पूर्वा
4. South East – Āgneyī – आग्नेयी
5. South – Dakṣhiṇā – दक्षिणा
6. South West – Nairṛṛtā – नैर्ॠता
7. West – Paścimā – पश्चिमा
8. North West – Vāyavyā – वायव्या

How to Use Compass to find Directions

  • Place the Compass in the middle of your palm so that the compass is not tilted
  • Rotate the Compass till the Red Needle is pointing to North Direction exactly